Industrial Wales
Risca Blackvein Colliery and Waun-fawr
very old coal, clay and lead workings and Archdeacon Coxe's incline of 1797
Search the site here

The industrial archaeology and history of Risca Blackvein Colliery and Waun-fawr

Click on the link here to go to :-
Risca Blackvein Colliery     The Brickworks     Glenside Collieries     The Tramroad
    Waun-fawr Collieries     Waun-fawr Ironmine     Memories from the 1950s
Archdeacon Coxe, just where was his incline?

or here to explore
The rest of Risca and Pontymister,     Crosskeys, Waun-fawr Village, Full Moon and North Risca Colliery.

National Grid references are given for many sites, clicking on those underlined will open a Google satellite view in a new window.
Click on the thumbnail to enlarge a photo or map and sometimes read more about it. Then click 'Full Size' on the toolbar to see it in all its glory.

Blackvein in the 1930s
Blackvein panorama
Blackvein and Waun-fawr seen from Coed Mamgu above the canal. Blackvein Colliery is in the centre with the scattered households of Waun-fawr village up the mountain to the right. In the front foreground is the site of the current Coleg Gwent, previously the bus garage. Blackvein Road curves up from the left behind Risca House. The postcard appears to have been from the 1930s.

All rights reserved - Phil Jenkins