colliers
Risca Industrial History Museum & OHIHS
This Season's OHIHS Programme
and the Society's previous events

Our Meetings Programme

OHIHS meet in the Risca Colliers Institute, home of the Risca Industrial History Museum and part of Oxford House Adult Education Centre, at 7.00pm for 7.15pm.
Meetings finish by 9.00pm. Membership fee £25.
Friends and visitors are welcome to attend our meetings: Admission £2.

Our Open Evenings

Open evenings are informal meetings giving everyone an opportunity to raise topics and questions for general discussion.
You are welcome to make short presentations, discuss topical matters of industrial interest or present the product of your researches.


DATE DETAILS SPEAKER
Friday 1st September 2017 What we did in the Summer....
and membership registration
Open to everyone
Friday 8th September 2017 A Wreckers Tale
Ship-breakers of the River Severn
Paul Barnett
Friday 15th September 2017 Open Evening
Contributions from our members
Friday 22nd September 2017 The Hetty Winding Engine
and steam winding in South Wales
Brian Davies
Friday 29th September 2017 Open Evening
Contributions from our members
Friday 6th October 2017 Eliza Tinsley - Nail Master
Malcolm Johnson
Friday 13th October 2017 Open Evening
Contributions from our members
Friday 20th October 2017 Geology and Scenery (Part 1)
Part 2 will be in the New Year
Dr Naylor Firth
Friday 27th October 2017 Open Evening
Contributions from our members
Friday 4th Novemer 2017 Excavating a 1790s Pumping Engine
at Serridge in the Bristol coalfield
David Hardwick
Friday 10th November 2017 Open Evening
Contributions from our members
Friday 17th November 2017 Denniston - Coal from the Clouds
An amazing colliery incline in New Zealand
Phil Jenkins
Friday 24th November 2017 Open Evening
Contributions from our members
Friday 1st December 2017 From New York to London via Abermawr
The Atlantic telegraph cable of 1866 and
the legacy of Brunel
Steve Jones
Friday 8th December 2017 Open Evening
Contributions from our members
Friday 15th December 2017 Industrial Film Night
Chris Plaister
Friday 22nd December 2017 Christmas Social Evening
Contributions from our members
Open to everyone
Friday 29th December 2017 No meeting tonight
Happy New year to you all






© All rights reserved - OHIHS 2004-2016