colliers
Risca Industrial History Museum & OHIHS
This Season's OHIHS Programme
and the Society's previous events

Spring Talks Programme 2017

Our Meetings Programme

OHIHS meet in the Risca Colliers Institute, home of the Risca Industrial History Museum and part of Oxford House Adult Education Centre, at 7.00pm for 7.15pm.
Meetings finish by 9.00pm. Membership fee £25.
Friends and visitors are welcome to attend our meetings: Admission £2.

Our Open Evenings

Open evenings are informal meetings giving everyone an opportunity to raise topics and questions for general discussion.
You are welcome to make short presentations, discuss topical matters of industrial interest or present the product of your researches.


DATE DETAILS SPEAKER
Friday 16th December 2016 Christmas Social Evening
A light-hearted evening before the break
Friday 23rd December 2016
Friday 30th December 2016
No meeting
Have an excellent holiday
Friday 6th January 2017 The Railway That Went Nowhere
The Welshpool and Llanfair Railway
Dr Roy Williams
Friday 13th January 2017 Open Evening
All contributions will be welcome
Friday 20th January 2017 An evening of industrial films
Something for everyone
Chris Plaister
Friday 27th January 2017 More Memorials

David Woodliff
Friday 3rd February 2017 Artifacts Night
Bring along something interesting and talk about it for a few minutes
Friday 10th February 2017 Cardiff's Forgotten Castle
Now where did I leave it?
Brian Davies
Friday 17th February 2017 Open Evening
All contributions will be welcome
Friday 24th February 2017 Waunfawr and Risca Blackvein Collieries
History on our doorstep
Tony Jukes
Friday 3rd March 2017 Open Evening
All contributions will be welcome
Friday 10th March 2017 Early Supplies of Electricity
in the West
Peter Lamb
Friday 17th March 2017 Open Evening
All contributions will be welcome
Friday 24th March 2017 The Llangattock Railway
in 1826
Geoff Williams
Friday 31st March 2017 Open Evening
All contributions will be welcome
Friday 7th April 2017 Celestine Mining
Bristol's secret mineral
David Hardwick
Friday 14th April 2017 Open Evening
All contributions will be welcome
Friday 21st April 2017 Canals to Microwaves
possibly quite a wide range of items
Terry Evans
Friday 28th April 2017 Conference Work Party
What, When and Where...
Friday 5th May 2017 Annual General Meeting
Your chance to have your say
Friday 12th May 2017 The first of our Summer walks
Let's hope it's dry


Back to the top



Back to the top

© All rights reserved - OHIHS 2004-2016